July 05, 2019

Varndean College Science Student wins UK ‘Young Scientist of the Year’ Award


Varndean College Science student Anya-Niamh Tidey has just been announced as the winner of Uptree’s ‘Young Scientist of the Year’ Future Talent Award. Sponsored by the NHS, the award recognises students who have made the most progress on their science career journey. Anya-Niamh first reached the final ten nominees, then made it down to the final three and on 1st July at a celebration ceremony hosted by J P Morgan, was awarded the outright winning gold award. Her prize is a unique tour of the Healthcare Science Department at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital in London, including the Critical Care Unit, Renal Dialysis, and Clinical Engineering departments.

Anya, who for the past two years has been studying A Levels Biology, Chemistry and Physics at Varndean College, has her eyes set on a medical career in The Army in the future; and her passion, skills and achievements were last year recognised by The Army, who awarded her a remarkable seven year bursary to fund her throughout her training.

Hopefully, upon receiving the required A Level results in August, Anya-Nimah will take up a six year degree in Medicine from September at St George’s College, University of London, followed by training as a military doctor in The Army.

For further information, please contact:

Jackie Francis, Marketing Manager, 01273 546611, jaf@varndean.ac.uk
John Luton, Head of Chemistry, 01273 508011, jl@varndean.ac.uk

Latest News

Card image cap
Varndean College students graduate as Newly Qualified Teachers

Huge congratulations to ex-Varndean College Early Years students, Libby Heffernan, Emily Davis and Kate Smith who have successfully…

Card image cap
Sam Paterson Award 2021

This year's recipient of the Sam Paterson Award goes to Year 2 Performing Arts student, Sami Al-kizwini. Now in its eighth year, the Sam…

Card image cap
Varndean A Level Chemistry Students win awards in RSC Chemistry Olympiad

A strong team of Year Two Chemistry students once again took part in the Royal Society of Chemistry's (RSC) annual Chemistry Olympiad and…