Sam Paterson Award

The Sam Paterson Award was established back in 2014 to commemorate the sudden and unexpected death of Varndean College Drama tutor, Sam Paterson. Set up by Sam's father, Ian Paterson, each year a sum of £500 is awarded to a student who upon completion of their course is judged by Varndean College to have made the most of their opportunity to fulfil their potential.

Previous recipients of the award are:

Academic YearNominationAmount £5,000
2013-2014George Bundock£500
2014-2015Jake Kroeger£500
2015-2016Frederica Pullen & Lana Jordan (£250 each)£500
2016-2017Emma Henderson & Ben Kenneally (£250 each)£500
2017-2018Lottie Bentham & Amelia Hilton (£250 each)£500
2018-2019Justin Seiderer & Tom Rusbridge (£250 each)£500
2019-2020Saoirse Counihan£500
2020-2021Sami Al-Kizwini£500
2021-2022Mary Gwynn & Marlon Read (£250 each)£500